Sinhagad Trek

      

 

I asked my Pune friends about things to do on a weekend.
Some suggested me to go to temples, others said clubbing would be best and some suggested to go to lakes and natural parks to chill.

I chose to do trekking.

There is a place called Sinhagad. It is quite famous for trekking. A lot of people go there to have fun with their family and friends.
I decided to go to this place early in the morning. However I started very late, woke up at 12.30pm and started my travel to Sinhagad Fort.
I took a city bus to Nanded City and from there I took another bus to Sinhagad fort.
The day was moderately hot.
The bus was wonderful. It was very fast, it’s diesel engine was roaring with power, and it ran smoothly on the road. The conductor and the driver in their khakhi uniform were very kind to tell me where to drop down to go to Sinhagad fort.
The bus dropped me at the foot of the mountain and from there I started my climb.

It was a 1 hour trek. While climbing I saw families , people in their 60’s and young boys. The boys were full of energy and were climbing steep rocks which they told me were ‘shortcuts’. I took few shortcuts as well. But later I realised that it did not make much difference in the time or distance taken to complete the trek.

I was climbing with a group of people. They were IT professionals. One of the guy was quite lazy. He called me repeatedly from behind – “Kitna he bhaiya aur”, “Rukja bhaiya me aa raha hu” and everytime I could see him from above I shout back at him “bas pahoch gaye” , “5 more minutes”, “I am waiting for you, come”.
The climb seemed difficult at the start but with a lot of trekkers who were full of energy and enthusiasm, it became easy.
I was wearing a pair of nike shoes, that had a good grip on the rocks which made it easy for me to climb.
After an hour and 10 mins of continuous walking and climbing I reached at the top.

On the top of the hill I sat and relaxed for a while. The view at the top was wonderful!
I could see a big reservoir which is called the Khadakwasla Dam of Pune. There were other buildings that looked like Lego pieces from there.
Behind me were big towers and giant dish TV’s and still my phone did not have the network. Huh!
There were various food stalls on the top as well. I saw people coming in Car by the road. The lazy guy told me that he ll take a car to go down.

It was 5.30 pm and I started to come down. Coming down was quite easy.
I saw a number of checkposts which are small huts on the trek where people were sitting and were having mineral water and wafers. The inside of these huts looked good, it is made up of clay and is shaped by the hands while making them.
I stood near one of the huts for a while and enjoyed the view while taking rest.
Meanwhile I also got the network in my phone when I reached half of the journey to come down.
Then I continued till I reached down.

After reaching down I took the bus to go back home. The bus conductor handed me the tickets and I enjoyed the journey back to my place.

Leave a comment